Patrons:  Sir John Egan, Peter Donohoe, CBE

The WSO has been performing in Leamington since 1940, and as the Leamington Orchestral society before that. Its players are drawn from all over the county and beyond. The Royal Spa Centre was the orchestra’s regular venue following its opening in 1972 with a concert given by the WSO. More recently the orchestra has played in the Guy Nelson Hall and in the churches of St. Mary, Warwick and All Saints, Leamington Spa. Over the years the orchestra has worked with many illustrious soloists such as Janet Baker, Julian Bream, Peter Donohoe, Leon Goossens and Tasmin Little. Guy Woolfenden, permanent conductor from 1972-2012, succeeded a line of distinguished past conductors, and has enhanced the WSO tradition of achieving the very highest musical standard.   The orchestra’s principal conductor is now Roger Coull, and the associate conductor, Paul Leddington Wright.

The WSO is proud of its association with Saint Michael’s Singers of Coventry Cathedral, the Royal Leamington Spa Bach Choir, Collegium Warwick and The Choirs of St. Mary’s Church, Warwick, with which it has performed several major works, including Holst’s The Planets, Berlioz’ Te Deum, Vaughan Williams’ A Sea Symphony and Verdi’s Requiem.

Since July 2002 the orchestra has taken part in the Leamington & Warwick Festivals, performing Walton’s Belshazzar’s Feast, Berlioz’ Messe Solennelle, Dvořák’s Requiem, Tippett’s A Child of Our Time and Respighi’s The Pines of Rome. In March 2009 and May 2012 the WSO performed joint concerts in both Warwick and Paris with the Choeur Josquin des Prés of Villebon and Collegium Warwick. In November 2013 in Coventry Cathedral the orchestra joined with The Saint Michael’s Singers and Studiosi Cantandi of Berlin in a performance of The Music Makers by Elgar.

A detailed History of the Warwickshire Symphony Orchestra may be purchased from manager@wso.org.uk



Chairman – Raymond Joyce
Secretary – Raymond Joyce
Assistant Secretary – Heather Pearson
Treasurer – Peter Scott
Assistant Treasurer – Dilys O’Driscoll
Venue Officer – Jenny Maynard
Librarian – Shauna Kelham Gardner
Publicity Officer – Amanda Laidler
Ticket Secretary – Diana Billington
Hospitality Officer – Ruth Smith
Programme Officer – Chris Voss
Music Research – Robert Gilchrist
Ordinary Members – Sara Coldicott, Anne Ransford

Ex officio – Roger Coull